I felt validated

I went to therapy yesterday. I haven’t been to therapy close to a year. But I needed it. To be honest, I didn’t realize how much I needed it until I left the therapy session.

I felt validated. I felt normal. I felt seen.

Therapy hasn’t always been an easy thing for me to do. I tend to suppress my feelings due to the fear of being stuck in them. I’ve been working on that this year. Even though I have made progress in feeling my emotions without holding back, it’s still a challenge for me. I used to pretend that I was okay when I wasn’t. I don’t pretend anymore.

I didn’t know how to explain what I felt for many years, until I started to educate myself on mental health. I also started educating myself on hormonal balance for women. The majority of my mental health struggles come from hormonal imbalances. It feels liberating to finally find the answers to things that were happening in my body that I did not understand.

Today I woke up proud of myself for taking the steps I needed to feel better.

I decided to embark a new beginning for me. One where I give myself a true fighting chance to be the best version of myself in all aspects of my life. Will it be easy? Absolutely not. But I am eager to see what is on the other side.

This morning during my meditation I envisioned myself walking out of that long dark tunnel I was stuck in for a very long year. I envisioned walking into the end of the tunnel where the light is and looking back at the dark tunnel with a peace of mind. I waved at the darkness and walked right into the light of a whole new me. I can’t tell you how healing that was.

It’s hard to let go of the past that hurt you. As much as you loved it. But it’s necessary.

As always, xoxo

Andreina

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started